ATTACHMENT A

ATTACHMENT A

PUBLIC NOTICE – ALCOHOL FREE ZONES AND ALCOHOL PROHIBITED AREAS 2017

≡00f8YD\\\EY←

Public Notice

Proposed Alcohol-Free Zones and Alcohol Prohibited Areas in the City of Sydney

Alcohol restrictions aim to prevent antisocial behaviour by prohibiting the consumption of alcohol in public spaces. Alcohol-free zones apply to streets. Alcohol prohibited areas apply to parks and other public places.

NSW Police are responsible for enforcing alcohol-free zones and alcohol prohibited areas in the city. People found to be drinking within a designated alcohol-free zone or alcohol prohibited area can have their alcohol confiscated by the police. You can give your feedback on the proposal in writing by email at alcoholrestrictions@cityofsydney.nsw.gov.au or by post to: Safe City Manager, GPO Box 1591, Sydney 2000.

Submissions close at 5pm on Friday 27 October 2017.



For all enquiries about this proposal, please call 02 9265 9333.

Proposed alcohol-free zones

These alcohol-free zones are proposed from 21 December 2017 to 22 March 2020, 24 hours a day, seven days a week for the NSW Police local area commands as listed below.

Kings Cross

- · Cowper Wharf Roadway
- · Lincoln Crescent
- · Ice Street
- · Barcom Avenue
- Victoria Street (from McDonald Lane to Grantham Street)

Redfern

- Regent Street (from Lawson Square to Cleveland Street)
- Cleveland Street (from Elizabeth Street to Abercrombie Street)

Surry Hills

- · Wentworth Avenue
- Elizabeth Street (from Liverpool Street to Albion Street)
- Riley Street (from Oxford Street to Foveaux Street)
- Foveaux Street (from Bourke Street to Elizabeth Street)
- Devonshire Street (from Crown Street to Chalmers Street)
- · Alexander Lane
- · Little Oxford Street
- Selwyn Street (from Napier Street to Albion Street)
- · Little Selwyn Street
- · Little Napier Street

Newtown

 King Street (from Church Street to Newman Street)

Sydney City

Yurong Parkway

Proposed alcohol prohibited areas

These alcohol prohibited areas are proposed from 21 December 2017 to 22 March 2020, 24 hours a day, seven days a week for the local area commands below.

Kings Cross

- · Green Park
- · O'Brien's Lane Reserve
- John Armstrong Reserve
- · Macleay Reserve
- · Ronald Shores Reserve
- · Arthur Reserve
- Daffodil Park

Leichhardt

- Jubilee Park Playground
- Harold Park Playground

Surry Hills

· Selwyn Street Closure

Sydney City

- · Pirrama Park Playground
- · Railway Square (Bus Interchange)
- St Bartholomew's Park

Temporary alcohol-free zones

These temporary alcohol-free zones are proposed for the Rugby 7s tournament from 26–28 January 2018, 24 hours a day for the local area commands below.

Surry Hills

- Moore Park Road (from Greens Road to Cook Road)
- Oxford Street (from Greens Road to 435 Oxford Street)
- Greens Road (from Oxford Street to Moore Park Road)
- · Oatley Road

- · Regent Street
- Regent Lane
- · Renny Street
- Stewart Street
- Gordon Street
- Bent Street
- · Elizabeth Street

Temporary alcohol prohibited areas

These temporary alcohol prohibited areas are proposed for New Year's Eve, 31 December 2017 to 1 January 2018, and for consecutive years until 2020 – to apply 24 hours a day for the local area command below.

Kings Cross

- Embarkation Park
- Arthur McElhone Reserve

Timed alcohol prohibited areas

These timed alcohol prohibited areas are proposed from 21 December 2017 to 22 March 2020 from 10pm-10am seven days a week for the local area commands below. New Year's Eve 31 December and 1 January each year (24 hours a day) are exceptions.

Sydney City

- Giba Park
- · Pirrama Park

Leichhardt

Glebe Foreshore Parklands which covers:

- · Federal Park
- · Bicentennial Park
- · Harold Park
- Glebe Foreshore Walk (including Blackwattle Bay Park)
- Pope Paul VI Reserve
- Tram Stop Reserve
- Jubilee Park and Oval

• For more information call 02 9265 9333 or email council@cityofsydney.nsw.gov.au